Media Advisory - On Thursday 19 September 12:00 noon EST - Civil Society set Expectations for the United Nations Climate Action Summit to be held in New York

Tele-press briefing on expectations for the United Nations Climate Action Summit held in New York on 23 September 2019

*** https://climateactionnetwork.zoom.us/j/273420927 ***

Thursday 19 September 2019 12:00 noon New York local time (Eastern Standard Time) | 16h00 UTC/GMT | 17h00 London | 18h00 Berlin.

Tweet questions to @CANIntl 

Climate Action Network (CAN) will host an online press briefing to set civil society’s expectations for the UN Secretary General Climate Action Summit that will take place on Monday 23 September, 2019.

Consecutive scientific reports from the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC) have been sounding the alarm about the climate emergency we are currently facing and we are fast approaching irreversible tipping points.

Warming is moving faster than originally forecasted with glaciers and ice sheets melting, forests burning and seas rising at an unprecedented rate. Governments must now act faster than ever to respond to the climate emergency with stronger targets and deeper emission cuts. Delayed action is as good as denial.

In this press briefing, CAN members will outline adequate response measures to the climate emergency and set clear expectations for ambitious government commitments through the coming year and up to the 2020 deadline.  

WHO:

  • Jennifer Morgan (Ms), Executive Director, Greenpeace International
  • Sven Harmeling (Mr), Global Policy Lead Climate Change and Resilience, CARE International  
  • Niranjali Amerasinghe (Ms), Executive Director, Action Aid US
  • Tasneem Essop (Ms), Interim Executive Director, Climate Action Network

Dial-in-details 

Click here to join:  https://climateactionnetwork.zoom.us/j/273420927

One tap mobile

+16465588656,,273420927# US (New York)

+17207072699,,273420927# US (Denver)

CONTACT:

Hala Kilani / Francois Rogers - CAN communications 

hkilani@climatenetwork.org / frogers@climatenetwork.org

WhatsApp: +9613567928    /   WhatsApp: +447585707220

 

About CAN

Climate Action Network (CAN) is a global network of over 1300 NGOs in more than 120 countries working to promote government and individual action to limit human-induced climate change to ecologically sustainable levels. More information on www.climatenetwork.org