Media Centre

CAN is an important, critical voice in the international climate policy process. The network’s regular press briefings and commentary help journalists and their audience make sense of what can be a baffling process, even to those who have been covering it for years.

CAN helps coordinate and amplify the communications work of its 900 members around major international climate processes. CAN also provides an important capacity building role for some members interested in boosting their communications efforts.

Media Contacts:

To get a briefing on the latest developments in climate policy, to join our media list or to be connected with a spokesperson from a CAN member organization, please contact our head of international communications coordination, Ria Voorhaar, at rvoorhaar (at) climatenetwork.org 

News Releases

February 25, 2015 - 10:54am

Climate Action Network provided the following comment on the releasse of the EC's Energy Union package today. 

The European Commission has today published a proposal on how to flesh out the EU's commitment towards the Paris agreement on climate change as part of a package outlining Europe's vision for energy and climate issues. 

February 13, 2015 - 9:48am

The UN climate talks in Geneva have closed today with an air of optimism having made progress towards a new agreement that is due to be signed in Paris at the end of the year. The draft agreement is on track to signal an end to fossil fuel emissions with both Jamaica and Switzerland adding their voices to the idea of a long term goal.1 

Climate Action Network members made the following comments on the closure of the UN session:

February 12, 2015 - 12:50pm

Civil society will assess what the outcome of the UN climate negotiations in Geneva this week means for progress towards a new climate agreement due to be signed in Paris this December. 

February 11, 2015 - 1:19pm
 

Climate Action Network experts will brief reporters on Thursday morning on developments in the UN climate talks in Geneva and outline what to expect from the meeting's final hours.

When: Thursday February 12th, 10.30am Geneva, 3pm New Delhi, 5.30pm Beijing, 13.30pm Dubai.  

February 8, 2015 - 12:01pm
 

As countries gather in Geneva to shape and sharpen the draft global climate agreement due to be signed this December, Climate Action Network experts will brief reporters on their expectations for the week ahead, and outline how the UNFCCC negotiations are impacted by developments in capitals around the world.

Image Gallery